Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


The Biggest Losers

The Biggest Losers
Standing front: Khem Swagat with his family and staff at the opening Swagat restaurant at Flagstaff Plaza on November 19, 2018. Photo: Maraia Vula
September 19
11:53 2014

The Fiji Labour Party and the People’s Democratic Party are the biggest losers in FijiFirst’s romp to victory.

They will not be represented in Parliament when it convenes because they failed to reach the five per cent of total votes cast.

Only the National Federation Party which is likely to get three seats for scoring more than five per cent, will join FijiFirst and SODELPA in Parliament. FijiFirst is likely to get 33 seats and SODELPA 14.

FLP’s loss has re-ignited the leadership row within the party.

(See page 5 for full story).

PDP, a breakaway from FLP, gained very little new votes. When they split, they also split up the traditional FLP supporters. There needs to be some serious soul-searching and rebranding in both camps to survive the harsh political climate.

Is there room for both?  FLP is in serious danger of vanishing.

From its high perch in 1999 when it won the election and formed the government, its decline began after its overthrow in 2000.


The results showed that in the new Fiji you cannot win under a narrow base platform. Given our demographic composition, the party’s indigenous emphasis in its manifesto limits its scope to attract non-iTaukei. It also needs to address the radical elements who in the closing stages of the campaign did more harm than good to the party.


Its leader Voreqe Bainimarama earns the distinction of the most popular Prime Minister in a Fijian election.

Mr Bainimarama and FijiFirst have changed the national political landscape.

Their policy on equality, non-discrimination, proved popular. Many Indo-Fijians voted for him because they regard him as their protector.

Your likely Members of Parliament

This list could change if there is a dramatic change in the final results.

FijiFirst – 33 seats. Voreqe Bainimarama, Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum, Parveen Kumar, Dr Mahendra Reddy, Ruveni Nadalo, Ratu Inoke Kubuabola, Viam Pillay, Brij Lal, Pio Tikoduadua, Sanjit Patel, Joeli Cawaki, Timoci Natuva, Osea Naiqamu, Balmindar Singh, Dr Jiko Luveni, Vijay Nath, Lorna Eden, Inia Seruiratu, Dr Neil Sharma, Netani Rika, Mereseini Vuniwaqa, Samuela Vunivalu, Alvick Maharaj, Jioje Konrote, Ashneel Sudhakar, Faiyaz Koya, Iliesa Delana, Laisenia Tuitubou, Veena Bhatnagar, Alex O’Connor, Viliame Naupoto, Jilila Kumar, Jone Usamate.

SODELPA – 14 seats. Ro Teimumu Kepa, Vane Seruvakula, Niko Nawaikula, Ratu Naiqama Lalabalavu, Mosese Bulitavo, Ratu Viliame Tagivetaua, Viliame Gavoka, Semesa Karavaki, Ratu Suliano Matanitobua, Ratu Isoa Tikoca, Ro Kiniviliame Kiliraki, Anare Vadei, Mere Samisoni, Ratu Jone Kubuabola.

NFP – 3 seats. Dr Biman Prasad, Tupou Draunidalo and Prem Singh.



Related Articles

you said it
"I support it 200 percent, I am with FRU, the country and the people of Fiji. We want to bid to get one of the HSBC stops in Fiji."
Waisale Serevi
Sevens Legend
September 2014
« Aug   Oct »

Latest Photo Gallery

Fijisun Online @Instagram