Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


New Government Takes Form

September 20
10:01 2014

The process is set to begin for FijiFirst leader Voreqe Bainimarama to form the new Government.

Some of the current Cabinet ministers and divisional commissioners are in the list of candidates who have secured seats.

They are joined by an exciting range of new faces including  tourism industry leader Lorna Eden and economist Mahendra Reddy

Economist Dr Mahendra Reddy, also on the list.

Economist Dr Mahendra Reddy, also on the list.

FijiFirst has secured at least 33 seats in the 50-seat Parliament, meaning it will govern alone.

That figure could increase as counting continues today. Early today, the FijiFirst team, was looking like this:

– Voreqe Bainimarama

– Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum

– Parveen Bala

– Dr Mahendra Reddy

– Ratu Inoke Kubuabola

– Ruveni Nadolo

– Sanjit Patel

– Dr Bril Lal

– Pio Tikoduadua

– Viam Pillay

– Joeli Cawaki

– Osea Naiqamu

– Balmindar Singh

– Timoci Natuva

– Dr Jiko Luveni

–  Samuela Vunivalu

– Lorna Eden

– Vijay Nath

– Inia Seruiratu

– Dr Neil Sharma

– Netani Rika

– Mere Vuniwaqa

– Semi Koroilavesau

– Jone Usamate

– Alvik Maharaj

– Jioje Konrote

– Iliesa Delana

– Faiyaz Koya

– Ashneel Sudhakar

– Rosy Akbar

– Veena Bhatnagar

– Alexandra O’Connor

– Laisenia Tuitubou

FijiFirst candidates polled 60.10 per cent of votes cast, according to provisional figures.

Counting progress in pre-polling and postal ballots early today indicated FijiFirst might pick up other seats.

The last five candidates on the list were running neck and neck.

The final list is expected on Monday.

Party standing on seats, according to the latest available provisional results.

FijiFirst  33;


NFP  3

Other minor parties had yet to reach the five per cent threshold.




Related Articles