Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


10 Fijians For Melbourne Rising Trial

10 Fijians For Melbourne Rising Trial
Serupepeli Uru with Prime Minister Voreqe Bainimarama.
August 10
11:00 2017


The 2016 Fiji Secondary School’s Rugby Player of the Year Serupepeli Uru has forced his way into the Melbourne Rising’s extended squad for the Australian National Rugby Championship competition that starts on September 2.

Also included with the former Ratu Kadavulevu School lock forward in the Rising squad is Island Breeze Rugby Plus players Nailati Ukalele, Kitione Ratu, Delai Moto, Joeli Baleilovu, Mataiasi Nairavu and Maciu Nabolakasi.

Other Fijian players are Tomu Mataika, Asivorosi Senikaucava and Bill Valetini.

Rising head coach Zane Hilton said the 46-player training squad are going to play in a trial to finalise his final squad.

Seven members of the extended squad have NRC experience, including Isiah Leota (Footscray), Keisuke Yadama (Footscray), Lloyd Johansson and Sione Taufa (Harlequin), who were all part of last year’s Rising squad that became the league’s first team to qualify for all three finals series. “We’ve kept a close tab on the Dewar Shield this season so we’re keen to see the best talent from across the competition when they come together for a training session for Rising and Axemen selection,” Hilton said.

“We’ve been impressed with the improving standard of the Dewar Shield again this season so to have the complementing Rising and Axemen programmes is exciting for Victorian rugby and will provide local players with more development opportunities.”

The Melbourne Rising need to finalise their squad for the 2017 National Rugby Championship by Monday, August 14.

The Melbourne Rising will kick-off their 2017 campaign against Perth Spirit, on Sunday,  September 3, before they return home to host competition newcomers Fiji at Harlequin Park on Saturday, September.9.

Extended training squad: Forwards- Frank Amituanai (Footscray), Angus Arundel (Harlequin), Joeli Baleilovu (Box Hill), Will Clift (Melbourne University), Ben Collins (Melbourne University), Darren Dean (Harlequin), Joel Djosovic (Melbourne University), Magnus Gillberg (Melbourne University), Angus Hamilton (Harlequin), Jason Havea (Harlequin), Mark Higginson (Melbourne), Shawn Ingle (Melbourne University), Simei Kolio (Harlequin), Tile Leota (Power House), Ata Manu (Melbourne), Maciu Nabolatasi (Melbourne), Sakaria Noa (Moorabbin), Matt Onesemo (Power House), Uru Serupepeli (Box Hill), Sione Taufa (Harlequin), Mahe Vailanu (Harlequin), Lusa Washburn (Footscray), Backs- Taylor Acheson (Harlequin), Sean Cressy (Power House), Telea-Afa Faatau (Melbourne), Maradona Farao (Harlequin), Lloyd Johansson (Harlequin), Ratu Kitione (Box Hill), Angelo Leaupepe (Harlequin), Isaiah Leota (Footscray), David Massey Melbourne), Tomu Mataika (Moorabbin), Delai Moto (Box Hill), Martin Naufahu (Footscray), Mataisi Nairavu (Melbourne), Hunter Paisami (Harlequin), Florian Peyrat (Footscray), Asivorosi Senikaucava (Moorabbin), Oliva Sialau (Harlequin), Makesi Stowers (Melbourne University), Pat Tiatia (Footscray), Nailati Ukalele (Box Hill), Antonie Van Zyl (Harlequin), Bill Valetini (Harlequin), Elias Vole (Harlequin), Keisuke Yamada (Footscray)



Related Articles