Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


Babasiga, Dynakil Win In Ba

Babasiga, Dynakil Win In Ba
Tauvegavega Fly on his way to beating Dan Shadow in their race in Ba on September 10, 2017 Photo: Charles Chambers
September 11
11:00 2017

Sigatoka champion mare Babasiga and Ba galloper Dynakil won the Mile and a Quarter Cope Construction Horse Race competition yesterday.

Close to 200 people turned up at the Ba Horse Race Course in Namosau to witness the competition with races run over six distances.

Babasiga from Sigatoka and owned by Zaid Ali beat Kaulino Power and Cilau in the final race of the day while Dynakil from Ba and owned by Sunil Sharma beat Lady Sindoor to take out the second last race over the same distance.

Both winners received a trophy and cash prize.

The event attracted 68 horses from around the western division with 36 races in total run in the one day event.

The race also saw Minister for Local Government Parveen Kumar Bala’s horse Secretariat won one of the three furlong races.

Zabeel and Azonto in their race in Ba on September 10, 2017. Photo: Charles Chambers

Zabeel and Azonto in their race in Ba on September 10, 2017. Photo: Charles Chambers


Three Furlong – Race I – New Moon owned by Mohammed Nazim; Race 2 Innocent Khiladi (Mohammed Zahir Khan; Race 3 – Junior Tui Boy (Mohammed Nasid); Race 4 – Cool Boy (Anad Sami; Race 5 – Jag Badhan (Ram Sami);  Race 6 – Diamond (Adrian Singh); Race 7 – Junior Striker (Shamim); Race 8 – Secretariat (Parveen Bala; Race 9 – Bhulu Ram (Bhula); Race 10 – Flying Jet (Mohammed Azim); Race 11 – Vigo (Habib).

Four Furlong: Race 1 – Zabeel (Mohammed Zahid Ali); Race 2 – Rastar (Sarjit Singh); Race 3 – Tauvegavega Fly (Rajesh Bansi; Race 4 – Speedo ( Chandar Singh); Race 5 – Roll Boy (Mohammed Liakat).

Five Furlong: Race 1 Koro Boy (Mohammed Azim); Race 2 – Trigger (Mohammed Saheed Zarif; Race 3 – Try the Barman (Abdul Muzamil),

Race 4 High Voltage (Mohammed Azim).

Six Furlong: Race 1 – Animal Kingdom (Ashwin Anand); Race 2 – Ali Boy (Zahid Ali).

One Mile: Race 1 –Rocky (Alvin); Race 2 – Jeep Rocket (Mohammed Mustak Khan).

Edited by Osea Bola




Related Articles