Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


Open Chess Marks Fiji Day

Open Chess Marks Fiji Day
Ayush Chand contemplates his next move in the Junior category on October 10, 2017. Photo: Fiji Chess Federation
October 12
11:00 2017

The 2017 Fiji Day Open Chess Championship was held in Suva on Tuesday and attracted the country’s top chess players.

The 12th edition of the annual event drew 30 players in various categories, a remarkable turnout compared to the previous year’s 11 participants.

Candidate Master Calvin Prasad (4.5 points) was unbeaten after five rounds and took out top honours in the Elite category.  Prasad had also won the 29th Brijlal Open three weeks earlier.

Defending champion Manoj Kumar (3.5 points) had a shock loss to Zen Borg in the fourth round and had to settle for third place.

Kumar’s loss meant Borg played Cydel Terubea in the final round, which was won by the latter, and handed Terubea the second position.

In the Intermediate category, Tomasi Rameka (4.5 points) clinched first place with Heartly Tepai (4 points) coming in second and William Waqavakatoga (3 points) settling for third place.

The beginner’s category was won by Ryan Bale (3.5 points).  Shivneel Chand (3 points) was second, and Glen Macalinao (3 points) was third.

Ayush Chand, 9, (4.5 points) impressed in only his second FIDE event, blitzing the field and finishing unbeaten in the junior category.  Madina Burkhanova (2.5 points) was second, and Mayur Prasad (2.5 points) came in third.

The Women’s prizes went to Shonam Narayan and Vijayta Raj.

The next tournament in the Fiji chess calendar is the Rajnesh Parmeshwar Memorial Open in November, followed by the FMF Fiji National Chess Championship in December.

The Prize Winners:

Elite: 1– Calvin Prasad (4.5), 2 Cydel Terubea (4), 3 – Manoj Kumar (3.5), 4 Zen Borg, 5 Avinesh Nadan, 6 Jaiwant Singh, 7 Rajiv Raj.


  • 1– Tomasi Rameka (4.5), 2 Heartly Tepai (4), 3 William Waqavakatoga (3), 4 Liaquat Niazi, 5 Mahir Prasad, 6 Parmesh Naicker, 7 Rahil Prasad, 8 Prit Chand.


  • 1- Ryan Bale (3.5), 2 Shivneel Chand (3), Glen Macalinao (3).

Junior: 1 Ayush Chand (4.5), 2 Madina Burkhanova (2.5), 3 Mayur Prasad (2.5), 4– Zaynal Ali.

Women: 1 Shonam Narayan (2), 2 Vijayta Raj (2).

-Fiji Chess Federation. ”




Related Articles