Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


Awards Deadline Moved

Awards Deadline Moved
From left: Fiji Human Resource Institute operations manager Suka Salusalu, FHRI president Kameli Batiweti and FHRI chairperson Neelta Goundar at the Employers Hub on April 20, 2018. Photo: Selita Bolanavanua
April 21
12:59 2018

The deadline for applications for the Fiji Human Re­sources Institute Awards has been moved to May 7, 2018.

FHRI president Kameli Batiweti said the original date set was April 28, but because of the two recent cyclones they moved the date because some of the members were affected.

This, he said, was to make sure that no one was left be­hind.

The FHRI Award recognises individuals who have been contributing towards the development of human resourc­es in their organisations.

The award is about recognition, unfortunately the HR function is one that is usually not recognised. We don’t make money, we spend money therefore the HR function is usually not seen,” he said.

“HR deals with human beings. Unlike Engineering that deals with objects and equipment, with HR there is no but­ton to press for human beings to function and therefore it is quite a difficult task.”

Mr Batiweti said recognition started with the chief ex­ecutive officers. CEOs nominate a HR person in the organ­isation and complete the application form and put in all the justification about some of the success stories that the HR person has achieved or accomplished and how that has contributed to the success of the organisation.

“We want to give everybody an opportunity,” he said.

Mr Batiweti said they hoped to have their awards night in June, making sure that it did not clash with the Budget announcement on June 22.

The dates are yet to be confirmed.

This year there are six categories for the awards.

These include:

Individual Award Categories

  1. HR Executive
  2. HR Manager
  3. HR Practitioner
  4. HR Rising Star

The nominee has to be nominated by the Chief Executive Officer/ Managing Director of the organisation.

Organisation Award Categories

  1. Best Practising Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  2. Best Practising Training and Development

Last year there were only three categories.

There will be an overall winner from each individual Award Categories and they will have the chance to attend the prestigious Australian Human Resource Institute Na­tional Convention.

The others that will cross the cutoff points will also be recognised, he said.

Mr Batiweti said the details for the FHRI 2018 National Convention would also be announced on the Awards night.

He acknowledged their sponsors, BSP Bank, BSP Finance and BSP Life for the support.

Edited by Epineri Vula


Related Articles

you said it
"I support it 200 percent, I am with FRU, the country and the people of Fiji. We want to bid to get one of the HSBC stops in Fiji."
Waisale Serevi
Sevens Legend
April 2018
« Mar   May »

Latest Photo Gallery

Fijisun Online @Instagram