Weather Fiji, Suva   Max 30°C, Min 23°C

Fiji Sun


Brown Leads Young Blitzboks

Brown Leads Young Blitzboks
Kyle Brown during training as he returns to Singapore this weekend. Photo: Zimbio
April 24
10:00 2018


Kyle Brown, the second most-capped South African 7s player of all time, will lead an exciting Blitzboks squad to Singapore this weekend for the eighth tournament of the 2017/18 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series.

Coach Neil Powell included seven young guns from the team that finished third in Hong Kong in the Singapore Sevens squad– Heino Bezuidenhout, Ryan Oosthuizen, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Stedman Gans, Muller du Plessis and James Murphy, who is the travelling reserve.


“One of our objectives this season was to expand the depth of our playing squad and because of that I was not forced into any selections due to injuries,” Powell told Sports24.

“This squad is our best one for this tour­nament as everyone is really pushing for a starting position.”

Joining them on the flight to Singapore will be Brown and six members from the Commonwealth Games squad- Dylan Sage, Werner Kok, Rosko Specman, Cecil Afrika, Siviwe Soyizwapi and Zain Davids, the only player who played in both tournaments.

Specman makes a return to the Series af­ter he missed the North American leg.


Brown takes over from Philip Snyman, with the regular captain along with some senior players been given a rest after a heavy workload during the season.

“It was tough to name this squad, due to the short turnaround,” said Powell.

The Blitzboks play Samoa, Canada and Ar­gentina in Pool C on Saturday.

South Africa: Heino Bezuidenhout, Ryan Oosthuizen, Kyle Brown (captain), Zain Da­vids, Dylan Sage, Rosko Specman, Selvyn Davids, Cecil Afrika, Werner Kok, Stedman Gans, Muller du Plessis, Siviwe Soyizwapi, James Murphy (reserve).

Edited by Leone Cabenatabua



Related Articles