Top Pick For Drua

  The Fijian Drua rugby team are going to present their i-Tatau to the President Major General (Ret’d) Jioji Konrote in Suva today. The Senirusi Seruvakula coached-side marched into camp
28 Aug 2017 11:12
Top Pick For Drua
Naitasiri native Isi Naisarani will feature for defending champions Perth Spirit when the 2017 Buildcorp National Rugby Championships kicks off this weekend. Photo: Perth Spirit.


The Fijian Drua rugby team are going to present their i-Tatau to the President Major General (Ret’d) Jioji Konrote in Suva today.

The Senirusi Seruvakula coached-side marched into camp yesterday to finalise their preparations before making their debut at the Australian National Rugby Championship on Saturday.

Last Saturday, Seruvakula reduced the squad but is expected to name his final 26 players before they fly out to Brisbane.

“We’re looking at players who have adapted well in our system, guys that have really put their hands up for selection,” he said.

“We will try and pick the best players in the first two rounds. There will be new faces in the team along with the experienced players as we need to have a balance.”

The no-nonsense coach is also expected to name his captain as well with Fijian Warriors skipper Mosese Voka being the frontrunner.

The other contenders are Suva captain John Stewart, Eroni Vasiteri and prop Joeli Veitayaki.



Defending NRC champions Perth Spirit named Fijian-born Western Force No.8 Isi Naisarani for the NRC.

Naisarani recently was awarded the Nathan Sharpe medal for his outstanding Super Rugby performance.

This was confirmed by Spirit coach Kevin Foote as he named his 33-member squad.

“I think it is probably the strongest squad we have named,” Foote said.

“We are going to be looking to throw the ball around and play some really attractive Western Australian rugby.”

Adam Coleman, Dane Haylett-Petty, Richard Hardwick and Tatafu Polota-Nau are the Wallabies listed among the squad.

Squad: Jermaine Ainsley, Shambeckler Vui, Tetera Faulkner, Beau King, Pekahou Cowan, Mees Erasmus, Baxter King, Anaru Rangi, Sama Malolo, Logan Ede, Richard Arnold, Matt Philip, Onehunga Havili, Ben Grant, Kane Koteka, Angus Cottrell, Isi Naisarani, Ben McCalman, Michael Hardwick, Michael Ruru, Ian Prior, Jono Lance, Peter Grant, Nick Jooste, Billy Meakes, Sheldon Tawara, Curtis Rona, Chance Peni, James Verity-Amm, Brendan Owen, Clay Uyen, Dane Haylett-Petty, Richard Hardwick, Adam Coleman, Tatafu Polota-Nau.



Dewar Shield leading points scorer Kitione Ratu had an opportunity to prove himself in Melbourne Rising’s final warm-up match against the Victorian Axemen before the NRC opener.

Outside the Super Rugby realm, Rising coach Zane Hilton said there’ll be some eye catching Dewar Shield talent in the mix, with competition’s player of the year Simei Kolio and the leading point scorer Ratu.

Hilton said the result would be irrelevant for the Rising in their first 2017 hit out, with more focus on their progress as a team.

“This game against the Axemen is about fine-tuning our structures and processes in preparation for the opening round against the Spirit.

“The biggest thing of all, this game is about providing the state’s best and most promising talent with the opportunity to step up to the next level and continue their rugby development in a competitive environment.”

Also in the Rising squad are Melbourne Rebels speedsters Marika Koroibete and Sefa Naivalu.

Edited by Osea Bola



Got A News Tip

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition