Kumar Seals Win For Labasa Sanatan

Kumar capitalised on a cross kick from teammate Shamal Lal.
22 Apr 2019 17:57
Kumar Seals Win For Labasa Sanatan
Labasa Sanatan team and fans in Tuva Nadroga on April, 21, 2019. Photo: Waisea Nasokia.

The Ravinesh Karan Singh- captained A1 Labasa side won the 2019 Pratap Asphalt Sanatan Inter-District Championship at the Tuva Primary School ground in Nadroga last night.

Tailevu-Naitasiri striker Rajnesh Kumar was scored in the last 10 minutes to edge Uluisila 1-0 in the final.

Kumar capitalised on a cross kick from teammate Shamal Lal.

Rewa district rep Anish Khem did not feature in the final as he received a red card in the semifinal, where Labasa beat Navua 2-0.

Labasa president Nilesh Lal said; “We have been after this title for more than a decade.

The team played well in the challenging condition.”

Uluisila team manager Nilesh Singh said; We will come back hard next year.”

Labasa went home $4000 richer while, Uluisila settled for $2000.

National Sports Wing president Pravin Singh thanked major sponsor Pratap Asphalt for the $20,000 prize purse which has been a record in the history of the tournament with the trophies were tailor made in Italy.

In the semifinal, Uluisila beat Nasinu 5-4 (pen) after both teams tied 0-0 at fulltime. Labasa beat Navua 2-0.

Open quarterfinal: Uluisila 4–3 Wairabetia (pen), Labasa 3-1 Makoi, Navua 4–1 Suva (extra time) after 1-1 at full time.

Other main winners: (Plate final): Dreketi 4–5 Nadi (pen), Bowl final: Tuva beat Tavua 2-1. Veteran final: Makoi 1–3 Navua Semifinal; Makoi 5-0 Tuva, Suva 1–4 Navua. Masters final: Makoi 1-0 Nadroga. Semifinal: Makoi 4–3 Navua, Na- droga 2–1 Cuvu.

Edited by Osea Bola


Fijisun E-edition
Total Excellium
Fiji Sun Instagram