Fiji Rugby Union Seals Deal With Kaji Rugby

FRU chief executive officer John O’Connor said the signing signifies the alignment of rugby and also create pathways for players in the country at a younger age.
14 Jun 2019 15:05
Fiji Rugby Union Seals Deal With Kaji Rugby
From left; FRU chief executive John O’Connor, Ministry of Education’s permanent secretary Alison Burchell, FPSRU vice-president Sakiusa Turagabeci and FPSRU secretary Sitiveni Uluinavucu in Suva on June 13, 2019. Photo: Grace Narayan

The Fiji Rugby Union signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Ministry of Education and the Fiji Primary Schools Rugby Union for the 2019 Vodafone Kaji Rugby competition.

The M.O.A allows the Fiji Primary Schools Rugby competitions to be registered under the Fiji Rugby Union umbrella.

FRU chief executive officer John O’Connor said the signing signifies the alignment of rugby and also create pathways for players in the country at a younger age.

“The signing of the M.O.A today ensures that we’ve agreed to the protocols and procedures that are identified in the agreement where Fiji Rugby Union plays an important role in this,” he said.

“I would like to thank the Ministry of Education’s PS for her guidance in this, although we started our partnership with Fiji Primary Schools Rugby Union and Vodafone last year. It was sort of an informal agreement whereby we met at the last minute and rushing through with the organising of the tournament.” “With Ministry of Education partnering shows a pathway for our children and there’s a huge opportunity for these kids to get support from World Rugby drive in terms of player welfare and longevity.

“Also the MOA outlines that from now onwards there is an equal opportunity for girls and boys to tag rugby which will includes under 9-11 grade and later allow them to proceed into competitive rugby.

“I would like to thank FPSRU for their hard work last year and lifting the standard of kaji rugby in Fiji.”

Ministry of Education’s permanent secretary Alison Burchell also highlighted through the introduction of tag rugby would prioritise the safety of the children.

“This is the second M.O.A that we are signing and obviously rugby is leading in this area and I hope that other sports will follow because it’s particularly important in terms of primary schools that we have the proper foundation for development and physical education,” Burchell said.

“We also would like outline the safeguard our duty of care and it is the result of that we say that under- 11 inclusive and downwards would be tag rugby as we want the young girls and boys to allow their body to develop and if you put those people to soon in the environment of this game it would be quiet risky for them.

“I have been very keen to ensure that platform is in placed and there is a natural pathway from primary to secondary then into national teams through FRU.

“And with FRU being involved right from the beginning will entrench and enforce any person that wants to go along that pathway in pursuing a career.

“It is not only about the students but the coaches, technical officials and volunteers and all of those are important component of making a sport function.”

FPSRU vice-president Sakiusa Turagabeci said it was a great honour for them to be part of the signing of the M.O.A.

“This will safeguard FPSRU’s welfare and interest in the future.

“I know this is where the story begins for a star in the future, we are the ones that teach our little ones how to read the game of rugby and make impactful tackles.

“I would also like to thank our major sponsors Vodafone for being there when we needed them the most. Primary schools rugby have been through a lot and yet I’m proud to say that FPSRU have 37 affiliated districts and is divided into four divisions.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Western Kaji for being with us and working with us on this journey. This M.O.A will help us to work together in achieving our common goal which is to attain holistic development for Fiji Primary School’s rugby.”

Western Division- Ra, Nadarivatu, Vatukoula, Nadi, Malolo, Nadroga, Navosa

Northern Division- Macuata, Bua, Cakaudrove, Buca Bay, Taveuni, Macuata south and Rabi

Central Division- Namosi, Beqa, Serua, Naitasiri, Tailevu, Suva, Rewa, Wainibuka, Wainimala, Nasinu and Northland.

Eastern Division- Ono-i-lau, Moala, Gau, Koro, Lomaiviti, Kadavu

Edited by Leone Cabenatabua


Advertise with us

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.