Special Administrators Appointed To Oversee Municipal Councils

Once the Special Administrators are officially on board, the next priority will be for them to finalise the appointments of Chief Executive Officers.
05 Aug 2019 15:37
Special Administrators Appointed To Oversee Municipal Councils
Debra Sadranu is the Nadi and Sigatoka Chair.

With the Fijian Government’s commitment to strengthen governance and service delivery across Fiji’s Towns and Cities, seven teams of Special Administrators have been appointed to oversee the governance and operations for the 13 Municipal Councils.

The Special Administrators appointed will be Council Members of respective Municipal Councils and will be regarded as the duly constituted Council.

The new Special Administrator teams, led by a Chair, will be tasked with modernising practices and streamlining processes to ensure cities and towns provide services to ratepayers and citizens in the most efficient, transparent and cost-effective way.

The Special Administrators have specific skills and expertise covering diverse business, legal, community and financial experience. Each team will assist, guide and drive the affairs of its respective towns and cities.

Minister for Local Government, Premila Kumar thanked the current Special Administrators for their management during the first stage of the critical and ongoing reform process. She emphasised the important role of Special Administrators in progressing the pillars of good governance and customer service; revenue management and cost control; project management and staff development.

“Our priority is to move Municipal Councils forward with new expertise and a strong vision for good governance. Special Administrators have a strategic role in shaping urban and rural growth, investments and Council initiatives so there is impact at a local level,” Minister Kumar said.

Fijian Towns and Cities have been rapidly progressing over the years. State investment has been substantial in cities and towns over the last five years and government is determined to transform Fiji towns and Cities to ensure they are liveable, attractive and places of opportunity for citizens.

The Special Administrators will perform their governance duties and oversee the work of their respective Chief Executive Officers and management to ensure citizens receive a better level of service delivery.

The Minister for Local Government announced the names of Special Administrators as follows:

1. Suva and Lami (Chair – Mr Isikeli Tikoduadua, Members: Mr Vilash Chand; Mrs Kerry Megan Mara; Ms Janice Nand; Mr Vimal Kumar);

2. Nausori and Nasinu (Chair – Ms Vera Chute, Members: Mr Praneel Surendra Prasad; Ms Elizabeth Jane Algar; Mr Uma Kant Patel; Mr Baskaran Nair);

3. Nadi and Sigatoka (Chair – Ms Debra Sadranu, Members: Mr Adish Naidu; Ms Manorma Khan; Mr Romil Patel; Mr Anil Chandra);

4. Lautoka and Ba (Chair – Ms Lala Teresa Sowane, Members: Ms Reene Duguivalu; Ms Dipti Sharma; Ms Beatrice Nast; Dr Rohit Kishore);

5. Rakiraki and Tavua (Chair – Mr Mark Hirst, Members: Mr Luke Mataiciwa; Mrs Ivamere R Saunaqali);

6. Levuka (Chair – Mr Bhan Pratap Singh, Member: Mr Ben Naidu);

7. Labasa and Savusavu (Chair – Mr Justin Hunter, Members: Mr Ami Kohli; Ms Doreen Miller Robinson)

Once the Special Administrators are officially on board, the next priority will be for them to finalise the appointments of Chief Executive Officers.


Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Covid 19 - SPC
Fiji Sun Instagram