Skipper Cup

Skipper Cup: Suva Survive Yasawa Fightback

Veteran Suva hooker Sireli Ledua said Yasawa have themselves in the major union.
02 Aug 2020 12:42
Skipper Cup: Suva Survive Yasawa Fightback
Suva hooker Sireli Ledua scores atry against Yasawa at the ANZ Stadium, Suva on August 1, 2020. Photo: Kelera Sovasiga Photo: Karalaini Waqanidrola

The Suva rugby team edged out Yasawa Marlins 10-3 in their Skipper Cup clash at the ANZ Stadium, Suva yesterday.

Yasawa tried to create an upset in the dying moments of the game but the Suva defence stood tall.

Veteran Suva hooker Sireli Ledua said Yasawa have themselves in the major union.

“They came out firing this year,” he said.

“Yasawa really played well for the whole 80 minutes. For our Suva side, we filled in our young players and those that did not play last week.

“Our plan this year, is to let everyone play and improve on our discipline before face Nadi next week.”

What happened: Both teams started off strongly and were looking to take an early advantage.

The visitors took a 3-0 lead when first five-eighth, Napolioni Bolaca booted over a penalty.

Bolaca’s tactical kicking had Suva backpedalling deep into their territory.

In the 15th minute, Suva lock Sorovakatini Tuifagalele got a yellow card for a high tackle on Bolaca.

With a man down, Ledua scored Suva’s first try from a lineout drive and was not converted by Jeke Suguturaga.

Halftime: Suva 5-3 Yasawa.

Several attempts by Suva to score from a scrum failed as Yasawa kept them at bay.

However, Suva winger Keponi Paul scored Suva’s second try after he was back from the bin for a 10-3 lead.

Comments: Yasawa coach Suliasi Ratu said: “It was a good game against Suva. We have learnt a lot from it.”

Suva- 1. Apisai Vatubuli, 2. Tevita Ikanivere, 3. Ananaia Rabonu, 4. Sorovakatini Tuifagalele, 5. Manoa Tamaya, 6. Manueli Laqai, 7. Tevita Sadrugu, 8. Tikiko Usumaki, 9. Joseva Vesikara, 10. Jone Manu, 11. Jiuta Wainiqolo, 12. John Stewart, 13. Elia Ratucove, 14. Keponi Paul, 15. Jeke Suguturaga.

Yasawa: 1. Sailosi Sekitoga, 2. Moape Wara, 3. Osea Sadrau, 4. Brian Duaibe, 5. Rusiate Waqa, 6. Joni Baleidama, 7. Timoci Ratu, 8. Metuisela Laba, 9. Luke Davui, 10. Napolioni Ratu, 11. Inia Rokomatu, 12. Semi Ratudradra, 13. Eliki Naikusa, 14. Aminiasi Yaroi, 15. Rusiate Matai.
Edited by Leone Cabenatabua


Fijisun Ad Space

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Total Energies
For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition
Fiji Sun Instagram