Bua Close To Breaking 43-Year Jinx

“It’s been so long since Bua made it this far, and we are we are very happy. We are not there yet and that is why we need to stay focused.”
11 Oct 2020 11:15
Bua Close To Breaking 43-Year Jinx
Bua midfielder Ratu Tunakabati celebrates his goal during the Courts Interdistrict Championship Senior Division semifinal against Tailevu/Nataisiri at the ANZ Stadium, Suva on Octber 10, 2020. Photo: Fiji FA Media

The Bua football team are on track to break a 43-year-old winless Courts Interdistrict Championship jinx.

Bua beat Tailevu/Naitasiri 5-4  on penalty kicks in the IDC Senior Division semifinal at the ANZ Stadium, Suva, yesterday.

The Northerners last won the Senior Division title in 1977.

The hero of the Bua side was goalkeeper Ritesh Chand who saved through crucial penalty kicks.

“Hats off to Ritesh for saving those penalties,” said an emotional Bua coach Roneel Ram.

“It’s been so long since Bua made it this far, and we are we are very happy. We are not  there yet and that is why we need to stay focused.”

Ram said after their torrid group games what kept them going was their proper recovery session.

He said they had wasted no time as they have begun the process to recuperate his players for today’s final.

“It has been a long tournament and the boys looked tired but it’s very important for them to get proper rest,” Ram said.

“Now we will focus on our recovery and then we will review our game for the final.”

Ram said his players stuck to the game plan and that contributed to their win.

What happened: Both teams opted to play fast football as they tried to score early goals.

In the 14th minute Bua midfielder Ratu Tuinakabati headed in the first goal.

The Suva heat took its toll on the players as they failed to keep up with the tempo of the game.

Halftime: Tailevu/Naitasiri 0-1 Bua.

Tailevu/ Naitasiri came out firing in the second half and missed several scoring opportunities.

In the 61st minute continuous pressure from Tailevu/Naitasiri saw the Bua defence buckled as they conceded a penalty kick.

Goalkeeper Tevita Koroi made no mistake with his attempt to level the scores 1-1.


Penalty kickers

Bua- Ritesh Chand, Mohammed Zaid, Ratu Tuinakabati and Radesh Raj

Tailevu/Naitasiri- Tevita Koroi, Malakai Lavetia, Kaliova Tiluvu (Missed), Jone Sekinabou.



Tailevu/Naitasiri: Tevita Koroi, Vilikesa Koli, Vilimone Baleilevuka, Prashant Chand, Skilei Tuiloma, Shelveen Prasad, Viliame Bawai, Patrick Ralulu, Ronil Ram, Jone Senikibou, Kavinesh Lal

Bua: Ritesh Chand, Aduru Kuva, Ratu Tuinakabati, Livai Raumakaita, Mohammed Zaid, Kaliveti Nateru, Amresh Prasad, Krishaal Naicker, Shamal Chand, Sumeet Prasad, Josua Raqamu.


Edited by Leone Cabenatabua



Got A News Tip

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition