Fiji FACT Next On Labasa’s List

A disappointed Lautoka coach Ravinesh Kumar did not wish to speak to the media as he was disputing Labasa’s first goal.
12 Oct 2020 10:05
Fiji FACT Next On Labasa’s List
Ratu Anare of Labasa (right) celebrate his second IDC Final goal against Lautoka at ANZ Stadium on October 11, 2020. Photo: Ronald Kumar

With the Courts Interdistrict Championship done and dusted, we have shifted our focus on the Vodafone Fiji FACT in November, says jubilant Labasa coach Ronil Lal.

The Babasiga Lions retained the IDC title after beating Lautoka 2-1 in the final at the ANZ Stadium, Suva, yesterday.

A disappointed Lautoka coach Ravinesh Kumar did not wish to speak to the media as he was disputing Labasa’s first goal.

“We’ve done our job,” Lal told SUNsports after the final.

“We are now focused on the Fiji FACT. It’s going to be held at home (Labasa) and all teams will be coming for us.

“We know it’s going to be tough but we are ready to lift our preparation and continue to display good football.”

Lal said the inspiring words of captain and goalkeeper Akuila Mateisuva challenged the players to go the extra mile.

“Akuila told the players that if their jersey is important to them then we have to win the final.

“I reminded the boys that we need to lift our game up in the second half, we know the talent and the potential these Lautoka players have.”

Lal said the Labasa team officials are going to meet and discuss on how to distribute the $25,000 prize money.

What happened: Labasa played attacking football from the first whistle. They kept bombarding the Lautoka goal mouth as they defended desperately.

Midway in the half, the Blues settled down and they dominated possession. Lautoka came close to scoring but the Labasa defenders managed to hold on.

Halftime: Labasa 0-0 Lautoka.

Lautoka drew first blood in the 57th minute from a Zibraaz Sahib penalty after Dave Radrigai was fouled.

This woke up the defending champions as they went all out on attack as Lautoka pulled back most of their players.

In the 67th minute Ilisoni Lolaivalu’s attempt came off the crossbar and the referee awarded a goal to the dismay of the Lautoka officials and players.

Labasa continued on the pressure and the 78th minute striker Anare Apenisa smacked in their winning goal from a corner kick.


Labasa: Akuila Mateisuva, Lino Iliesa, Atonio Tuivuna, Vikranth Chandra, Siotame Kubu, Ilisono Lolaivalu, Ashnil Raju, Anare Apenisa, Akeimi Ralulu, Taniela Waqa, Ilisoni Logaivau.

Lautoka: Viliame Tabucala, Epeli Leiroti, Zibraaz Sahib, Dave Radrigai, Malakai Rakula, Samuela Gavo, Edward Aaron, Muni Shivam Naidu, Sekove Finau, Jone Vono Jnr, Kolinio Sivoki.

Got A News Tip

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition

Most Read Stories

Sorry. No data so far.