Farebrother Challenge

Veremalua: Cut Down On Errors

Change of flight, halfback Matawalu starts for Namosi in today’s Farebrother clash
24 Oct 2020 09:03
Veremalua: Cut Down On Errors
Nadi winger Vilikesa Driu who is dubbed the ‘Pocket Rocket’ will be in the starting line-up of today’s double header clash at the ANZ Stadium in Suva.Photo: Waisea Nasokia

Discipline and errors are two important areas the Nadi rugby side have rectified before today’s double-header against Namosi at the ANZ Stadium, Suva.

Nadi captain, Veremalua Vugakoto highlighted this after their narrow 17-12 loss to Nadroga, last Saturday.

“It was the errors we made that determined the final scoreline,” the former Flying Fijians hooker said.

Nadi were ahead 12-3 at halftime but yellow cards to Ron Katonivere and Vatemo Ravouvou allowed Nadroga to crawl their way back to victory.

Nadi coach Ilai Derenalagi has opted to keep the same line-up in today’s clash where the Farebrother-Sullivan Trophy is also at stake.

In a position change second- five-eighth and goalkicker Sela Toga has been moved to fullback.

The Nadi Match- 23 squad travelled to Suva yesterday to round-up their preparations.

Meanwhile, a change of flight schedule has seen Flying Fijian’s Peni Matawalu back at halfback for Namosi.

But in a technical move, Namosi coach Asaeli Boko has benched fullback Meli Nakarawa and Lepani Raiyala. The duo have been Namosi’s standout players during the Nadroga and Yasawa challenge matches.

In their place, comes speedy Vinaya Habosi and Esala Nalobo.

The clash also marks the return of captain and No.8 Sakiusa Nadruku while Kelepi Naimasi is on the bench.

The match kicks-off at 3pm.



Namosi: 1. Aseri Robarobalevu, 2. Seru Cakobau, 3. Alivereti Rabukawaqa, 4. Neori Racule,5. Eparama Luvata, 6. Apakuki Vuaviri, 7. Akapusi Roqica, 8. Sakiusa Nadruku (Captain), 9. Peni Matawalu, 10. Alivereti Veitokani, 11. Asaeli Tuivuaka, 12. Kalaveti Ravouvou, 13. Onisi Ratave, 14. Vinaya Habosi, 15. Esala Nalobo

Reserves: 16. Temesia Rokotui, 17. Lekima Banuve, 18. Peni Tupou, 19. Tomasi Sovilea, 20. Kelepi Naimasi, 21. Aminiasi Natoga, 22. Meli Nakarawa, 23. Lepani Raiyala.

Nadi: 1. Ron Katonivere, 2. Veremalua Vugakoto (Captain), 3. Joseva Nadolo, 4. Vilikesa Boletawa, 5. Peni Tavua, 6. Jolame Luvevou, 7. Vilive Miramira, 8. Apisai Nagi, 9. Anasa Vuatalevu, 10. Vatemo Ravouvou, 11. Vilikesa Driu, 12. Vilive Aria, 13. Eseroma Naba, 14. Amino Naseyara, 15. Sela Toga.

Reserves: 16. Viliame Tui, 17. Veniona Toga, 18. Simione Tora, 19. Samuela Saqiwa, 20. Sivaniolo Lumelume, 21. Naulia Dawai, 22. Navitalai Tuilawa, 23. Orisi Tuidraki.


Edited by Leone Cabenatabua

Feedback:  waisean@fijisun.com.fj


Advertise with us

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Rewa Diwali Promo Banner
For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition