99 Schools Either Damaged Or Destroyed

For these schools, he said the Republic of Fiji Military Forces (RFMF) and Australian Defence Force (ADF) partners would build temporary shelters.
07 Jan 2021 14:37
99 Schools Either Damaged Or Destroyed
Thirty-two schools in the North damaged by Cyclone Yasa are listed as top priority. Photo: DEPTFO News

Ninety-nine (99) schools in Fiji were either damaged or destroyed by Tropical Cyclone Yasa last month, the Ministry of Economy’s Construction Implementation Unit (CIU) confirmed yesterday.

They include 25 schools in Bua, 19 in Cakaudrove, 32 in Macuata, 14 in Lau, four in Lomaiviti and five in Yasawa.

The CIU is working with the Asset Management Unit, through Ministry of Education, to carry out damage assessment.

In an earlier interview, Minister for Disaster Management Inia Seruiratu said 32 schools in the Northern Division were identified as a priority for rehabilitation works.

For these schools, he said the Republic of Fiji Military Forces (RFMF) and Australian Defence Force (ADF) partners would build temporary shelters.

Commissioner Northern Uraia Rainima said this work was called “Fast Fix” and he anticipated work to be completed by January 17.

“All schools in the Northern Division that was used as evacuation centres have been vacated over the weekend,” Mr Rainima said.

“The military personnel have already started cleaning some schools over the weekend.”

He said they had completed work on Kia Island and were moving on to the maritime islands.

Minister for Education Rosy Akbar said help in the rehabilitation works was pouring in.

“We are trying our best to get things done so that schools can be opened on January 19,” she said.

“Teachers have been advised to report to their respective schools on January 18.”



1. Dreketi Kindergarten; 2. Navai Kindergarten; 3. Vunimanuca Kindergarten; 4. Maramarua Kindergarten; 5. Namoli Mobile Kindergarten; 6. Nakalou Kindergarten; 7. KorotubuKindergarten


1. Nasekula District; 2. Seaqaqa District; 3. Bocalevu Muslim; 4. Nubu Primary; 5. Daku Primary; 6. Vunimanuca Primary; 7. Wainikoro Public School; 8. Lagalaga Sanatan; 9. Navai Primary; 10. Cadranasiga District; 11. Qawa Primary; 12. Solove Primary; 13. Dreketi Primary; 14. Maramarua District; 15. Valelawa Primary; 16. Muanidevo SD Primary; 17. Lutukina District; 18. Korotolutolu Primary


1. Ahmadiyya Muslim College; 2. Dreketi Central College



1. Vuya ECE; 2. Dama ECE


1. Nasarawaqa Primary; 2. Korokadi Primary; 3.Lekutu District; 4. Waibunabuna Primary; 5. Naivaka Primary; 6. Galoa Island School; 7. Yadua Village School; 8. Baravi Primary; 9. Rt Luke Memorial Primary; 10. Naruwai Village School; 11. Nadi District School; 12. Namau Primary; 13. Bua Primary; 14. Vunivau SD Primary; 15. Dama District School; 16. Wainunu SDA School; 17. Vuya District School; 18.Coboi SD Primary; 19. Ratu Emeri Catholic School 


1. Immaculate Conception College; 2. Bua Central College; 3. Lekutu Secondary; 4. Ratu Luke Secondary; 5. Naikavaki College



1. Wailevu ECE; 2. Qalitu ECE; 3. Batibalavu ECE; 4. Saqani ECE


1. Wailevu West; 2. Batibalavu Primary; 3. Saqani District; 4. Saint Paul Primary; 5. Cawara District; 6. Tawake District; 7. Sesevolivoli Primary; 8. Nabua Primary; 9. Vuanicau Primary; 10. Nasavusavu Public School


1. Saqani High School; 2. Savusavu Secondary; 3. Uluivalili Secondary; 4. Rabi High School

Edited by Naisa Koroi


Got A News Tip

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition