Who’s Who In Rabuka’s Proposed Party?

Jone Tuisawau said: “I don’t support Sitiveni Rabuka and because I am a member of SODELPA.”
25 Feb 2021 09:21
Who’s Who In Rabuka’s Proposed Party?
Sitiveni Rabuka. Photo: Ronald Kumar

Names of key people who may be working to help Sitiveni Rabuka register his proposed new political party have been revealed.

They are copied in an email sent to the North, West and Central divisional co-ordinators. Two have dissociated themselves from the new political movement.

Among the prominent names is a sitting SODELPA member of Parliament, Adi Litia Qionibaravi and a former diplomat Emitai Boladuadua.

It is understood that there are some members of SODELPA’s Management Board on the list.

Emails were sent to the people named to confirm their association with the new proposed party. So far, only four have responded.

Jone Tuisawau said: “I don’t support Sitiveni Rabuka and because I am a member of SODELPA.”

Kalesita Toroki said: “I am not part of the group above and I wish to disassociate myself with all emails regarding any political party formation. I believe my email address got mixed with that group when I was enquiring about investments with FHUT. I had deleted all emails that appear in my inbox with regards to the above. Apologies for the inconvenience caused.”

Gilbert Vakalalabure said: “I will look into this and get back to you.”

Gabby Ravunisa said: “I have no comments. Vinaka.”

If some of those listed in the mail have involvement with the proposed party, then it brings to question their participation in SODELPA’s governing body. Are they guilty of political espionage? And should they be attending management board meetings?

This would have to be addressed before the crucial Management Board meeting tomorrow in Suva.

A leading member of Mr Rabuka’s inner circle, Mataiasi Lomaloma, had written to the divisional coordinators and asked them to gather and send signed forms (presumably about the 5000 signatures needed to register the party) so that he could monitor progress and report to the task force. (Read top analysis)

The Divisional co-ordinators are listed as:

Central: Tevita Tabalailai, Ratu Jone Mataitini and Sitiveni Loaloa.

Northern: Ratu Jone Maivalili, Gabby Ravuni and Talei Silibaravi.

Western: Ratu Tevita Komaisavai, Meretui Ratunabuabua, Titilia Vuataki and Meli Cabebula.

The letter was copied to:

Adi Litia Qionibaravi, Adi Lamawa Naivalu, Akuila Rawaqa, Apisalome Loganimasi, Arvind Deo Singh, Bulou Elena Donumaitoga Ligamamada Rabuka, Eelia Nasamila, Emitai Boladuadua, Fotu Salusalu, Gabby Ravuni, Gilbert Vakalalabure, Henry Matatolu, Ilaitia Seru, Inise Teira Goneyali, Joape Tiko, Jone Maivalili, Jone Tuisawau, Josaia Rasiga, Kitione Radrodro, Laitita Nawadradra, Lecy Taukilagi, Lele Makutu, Levani Tuinabua, Matia Waqaua, Meli Cabebula, Meretui Ratunabuabua, Orisi Seruitanoa, Raiwalui Saliceni, Ratu Jone Mataitini, Ratu Tevita Komaisavai, Sai Lealea, Sereana Fenton, Osea Tokovou, Sitiveni Loaloa, Sivaniasi Toroca, Talei Silibaravi, Tevita Tabalailai, Titilia Vuataki, Toroki Kalesita, Ulai Taoi, Viliame Nagia and Viliame Turagavou, Etueni Caucau, Keni Dakuidreketi, Manoa Kamikamica, Sakiusa Raivoce, Semi Tukana, Setaita Tupua Kalou, Sitiveni Rabuka.

Edited by Naisa Koroi

Feedback: wati.talebula@fijisun.com.fj

Fijisun Ad Space

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Fiji Sun Instagram