Hughes Takes Lead, Mateisuva Follows 

Hughes scored a goal as Rewa recorded their first DPL win after beating Navua 2-1.
06 Apr 2021 14:45
Hughes Takes Lead, Mateisuva Follows 
Rewa football captain Setareki Hughes controls the ball against Navua at the Uprising Sports Complex in Pacific Harbour, Deuba, on March 28, 2021. Photo: Leon Lord

Rewa football captain Setareki Hughes is the new leader on the SUNsports Best and Fairest Player after a stunning performance during the fourth round of the Digicel Premier League.

Hughes scored a goal as Rewa recorded their first DPL win after beating Navua 2-1.

He is closely followed by veteran Labasa goalkeeper Akuila Mateisuva after another sterling outing for the Babasiga Lions who beat Nadroga 1-0 at Subrail Park.

Scores from matches over the weekend were as,


Labasa 1-0 Nadroga

3 points: Akuila Mateisuva (Labasa)- made numerous saves that denied Nadroga from scoring their equaliser. Directed his defenders well and played with a lot of confidence

2 points: Osea Vakatalesau (Nadroga)- Played well and dominated the aerial battles. He read the game and disrupted many of Labasa’s moves.

1 point: Ato Yankson (Nadroga)- Controlled the midfield well and created gaps in the Labasa defence.


Rewa 2-1 Navua

3: Setareki Hughes (Rewa)- The mainstay of the Rewa side. He scored the first goal and is very skilful in controlling the ball.

2: Thomas Dunn (Navua)- A crafty player with his never say die attitude

1: Matthew Charitar (Navua)- A fearless defender and a hard person to get past.


Nadi 1-0 Suva

3: Sakaraia Naisua (Nadi)- A stylish striker and always probing the Suva defence. He scored the lone goal.

2: Vereti Dickson (Nadi)- Guarded his goalmouth well and made several spectacular saves to deny the Suva strikers.

1: Shahil Dave (Suva)- The pint sized midfielder known for his bullet drives that almost got Suva’s equaliser.


Lautoka 2-1 Ba

3: Darold Kakasi (Ba)- A skilful player and his dribbling skills was a delight to watch. Always trying and scored Ba’s goal.

2: Dave Radrigai (Lautoka)- Led by example and was always urging his players on.

1: Sairusi Nalaubu (Lautoka)- He is now adapting to Lautoka’s style of play. Scored the second goal and keep an eye on him this season.


How they stand:

8- Setareki Hughes (Rewa),

7- Akuila Mateisuva (Labasa),

5- Tomasi Tuicakau (Nadroga), Ato Yankson (Nadroga), Thomas Dunn (Navua), Vereti Dickson (Nadi);

4- Osea Vakatalesau (Nadroga), Sakaraia Naisua (Nadi), Darold Kakasi (Ba), Dave Radrigai (Lautoka);

3- Saula Waqanicakau (Ba), Beniamino Mateinaqara (Lautoka), Jibola Afonja (Nadroga, Shameel Rao (Ba), Senirusi Bokini (Rewa), Ilisoni Lolaivalu (Labasa);

2- Abbu Zahid (Ba), , Rahul Krishna (Nadi), Remueru Tekiata (Suva), Arami Manumanubai (Navua), Savenaca Nakalevu (Ba), Tevita Waranaivalu (Rewa), Rahul Naresh (Nadroga), Zibraaz Sahib (Lautoka), Monit Chand (Navua),  Matthew Charitar (Navua), Shahil Dave (Suva);

1- Ratu Anare (Labasa), Suliano Doli (Navua), Meli Codro (Suva), Etonia Dogalau (Ba). Marika Rawasoi (Lautoka), Waisake Navunigasau (Suva), Sairusi Nalaubu (Lautoka).



Fijisun Ad Space

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Fiji Sun Instagram