Moce Retain Association Cup

List of challengers: Kabara next, Namuka then Oneata, 30-member Fiji Cricket squad named
11 Apr 2021 13:27
Moce Retain Association Cup
Moce supporters took to the road to cheer them on during the Association Cup clash against Ono-i-Lau at Albert Park, Suva, on April 10, 2021. Photo: Leon Lord

Moce cricket fans celebrated after their team retained the Association Cup by beating arch rivals Ono-i-Lau by four wickets at Albert Park, Suva, yesterday.

Cricket Fiji development manager, Sitiveni Rokoro, said the challenge match had to go down to the wire.

Ono-i-Lau came out all fired up sensing an upset win but the experience of the Moce batsmen saw them pull the game out of the fire.

Rokoro said the Association Cup challenge started last year after the Easter Cricket Championship was cancelled due to the lockdown caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The Association Cup came to mind to keep the cricketers going.

“It was played late last year and was won by Suva Warriors.

“After the final, the list of challengers were drawn out and Moce were the first to challenge.

“They beat Suva Warriors in February and this is their first defence of the Association Cup.”

Rokoro said the next challenge is Kabara followed Namuka and Oneata.

“Since we are now into the off season, we are still contemplating on where to hold these Association Cup challenge matches.

“One option, we are looking at is for Kabara to travel to Moce but all of this will depend on the shipping services.

“However, since Moce are the defending champions, they are going to dictate where they are going to defend the cup.”

Meanwhile, at Albert Park ground two, the national cricket trials also took place.

Rokoro said they were selecting 30 players from the trials to prepare for the East Asia Pacific qualifiers in October.

“From the 30 players we are going to trim the squad down to the required number as we get closer to the qualifiers,” he added.

The squad start their training on Monday.


Fijian cricket training squad:

Ono-i-Lau- Noa Acawei, Tevita Soko, Tabuisulu Siteri, Vilisoni Yadrasiga; Moce- Makutu Seru, Ganilau Kaiwai, Tagilala Rakuita, Manase Tadu, Filipe Tiko, Napolioni Gu; Suva- Cama Buadromo, Tuapati Cakacaka, Jone Wesele, Peni Volavola, Saimoni Tuitoga, Mosese Dela, Kitione Tavo; Nadi– Sekova Ravoka, Vilikesa Driu, Sailosi Naiteqe, Darshan Kapadia; Oneata- Josaia Baleicikobia, Cakacaka Cokovati; Namuka- Rolly Marika, Peniseni; Komo- Tadulala Veitacini; Lakeba- Laiseni Martin, Eriki Cama; Kabara- Apete Sokovagone, Jone Lupe


Laybuy it 5squares

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Fiji Sun Instagram