Super Drua

The Drua and Moana Pasifika will join New Zealand and Australia’s five clubs in a 12-team tournament.
31 Aug 2021 13:46
Super Drua

The Fijian Drua has been confirmed to participate in the Super Rugby Pacific 2022.

The Drua and Moana Pasifika will join New Zealand and Australia’s five clubs in a 12-team tournament.

Delivered by the joint venture partnership between New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Rugby Australia, Super Rugby Pacific will kick off on February 18 next year with an eight-team playoff series culminating in a final on 18 June.

New Zealand Rugby’s long-standing broadcast partner Sky will provide live and exclusive access to all 91 matches.

In a joint statement released by the Super Rugby, Fiji Rugby chief executive officer John O’Connor, said they were thrilled to see a format that offered all participating teams a fair shot at the playoffs. He also expressed gratitude to NZR and RA for making Fiji’s Super Rugby dreams come true.

“The South Pacific has traditionally been the game’s talent goldmine globally, but NZR and RA’s commitment will help us provide professional pathways for our players right here at home. We will repay the steadfast faith shown by our partners by bringing high octane flair and skills that are uniquely Fijian to Super Rugby Pacific.

“The Fijian Drua eagerly look forward to announcing the next milestones in our journey, which will include assembling a squad of players who will light up the competition and delight fans week in, week out.”

Meanwhile, discussions on where the team would be based are still ongoing.

Fiji Rugby Union’s Commercial Manager, Brian Thorburn, had earlier stated that they would appoint a coach and a chief executive virtually the day after they get their licence.

Features of the Super Rugby Pacific competition structure are:

n 12 teams (in alphabetical order), being the Blues, Brumbies, Chiefs, Crusaders, Fijian Drua, Highlanders, Hurricanes, Melbourne Rebels, Moana Pasifika, NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds and Western Force

  • Teams will play 14 regular season matches with each team to host seven matches
  • Teams will play eight teams once and three teams twice with an emphasis on derby matches
  • There will be one points table with teams ranked one to 12 based on competition points
  • The top eight teams on the points table will qualify for a three-week playoff format
  • Quarterfinals will be – 1 v 8, 2 v 7, 3 v 6 and 4 v 5 with the top ranked team playing at home
  • Top ranked quarter-final winners will host the semi-finals, and top-ranked winner of the semi-finals will host the final
  • 18-week season all completed prior to the July international window

Edited by Selita Rabuku 


Five Squares 4th Birthday

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Tower Insurance
Covid 19 - SPC
Fiji Sun Instagram