NFP Announces Final Batch Of Provisional Candidates

The National Federation Party announced its final batch of provisional candidates yesterday.
05 Nov 2022 15:47
NFP Announces Final Batch  Of Provisional Candidates
National Federation Party provisional candidates and party supporters during the announcement at the party headquarters in Tamavua on November 4, 2022. Photo: National Federation Party.

The National Federation Party announced its final batch of provisional candidates yesterday.

Former Fiji First Member of Parliament Balmindar Singh, Foundation for Rural Integrated Enterprises & Development (FRIEND) Fiji former CEO Sashi Kiran and former Fiji Teachers Union General Secretary Agni Deo Singh were among the 23 names announced yesterday.


The 23 provisional candidates were added to the list of 22 candidates who were announced in August this year.

Party leader Biman Prasad said the party had announced their full list of 55 candidates and would file their nominations with the Fijian Elections Office next week.

Apart from NFP leader Biman Prasad and its president Pio Tikoduadua, the other 21 names announced were:

  • Ajay Kumar- a businessman and TISI Sangam Lautoka Branch president;
  • nAnsu Lata – NFP assistant general secretary for three years and active association with NFP over eight years. She is from the Friendly North;
  • Balmindar Singh – In 2014, Balmindar served as one of their 32 MPs in the FijiFirst Government;
  • Bimal Prasad Chaudhry – Mr Chaudhry has been with the NFP as a teenager. He has extensive historical political knowledge and is a NFP vice-president. He is from Navua;
  • Divina Loloma – a rights advocate and community worker from Lautoka and Ba;
  • Jone Vakalalavanua – an active NFP youth involved in community and social work targeted towards empowering youths;
  • Iliesa Raiduduva – a video specialist;
  • Dorsami Naidu – a Nadi lawyer, a former Law Society president, and a former MP of NFP from 1992 to 1999. He served as a member of the Joint Parliamentary Select Committee that formulated the acclaimed 1997 Constitution. TISI Sangam president for more than 11 years;
  • Himayat Ali – was a NFP candidate in 2018. He is a successful businessman and a prominent registered surveyor;
  • Kiniviliame Salabogi – a NFP vice president and hails from Ra Province. A former military officer.
  • Lawrence Narayan – is a young man business executive;
  • Parmod Chand -as a MP from 1994 to May 1999 and again from March 2017 to September 30th 2018. Mr Chand is a highly successful businessman in the North;
  • Waisale Kanavo – is a former District Officer. He was a NFP candidate in the 2018 elections;
  • Prem Singh – a former MP. He served as Leader of the Opposition from October 2001 to September 2002;
  • Rakesh Chand – is a businessman and an advocate of rights of the transport industry. He is from Kulukulu, Sigatoka;
  • Rakesh Rohit Raju – a businessman from Nadi and a community worker;
  • Sekonaia Rabukaduadua – a former Fiji Pine Ltd executive, community worker;
  • Veniana Katonitabua – hails from Sigatoka and is a former teacher. She was an NFP candidate in 2018;
  • Ramlingam Mudaliar, is a longtime business executive having served as general manager for Punjas for many years. A prominent leader of TISI Sangam;
  • Agni Deo Singh – He has just resigned as Fiji Teachers Union general secretary and was a former MP in 2006; and
  • Sashi Kiran – is well known for her service to the community as a development practitioner over the past 25 years



Advertise with us

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.

Rewa Diwali Promo Banner
For All Fiji Sun Advertising
Fijisun E-edition