Six Fijians For Killik Cup Showdown

Six Fijian players are going to feature in the rugby showdown between the Barbarians and World XV for the Killik Cup at Twickenham on May 28.
20 May 2023 15:29
Six Fijians For Killik Cup Showdown
Photo caption: Seta Tamanivalu has played five Test matches for the All Blacks and three Tests for the Flying Fijians. Photo: Supplied

Six Fijian players are going to feature in the rugby showdown between the Barbarians and World XV for the Killik Cup at Twickenham on May 28.

The Babarians coached by Eddie Jones has included powerhouse centres Seta Tamanivalu and Samu Kerevi.  The Steve Hansen coached World XV has named No.8 Viliame Mata, veteran lock Api Ratuniyarawa while in the backs they have Marika Koroibete and Semi Radradra.

Of these Fijian players, Kerevi and Koroibete are top contenders for the Wallabies in this year’s Rugby World Cup. The rest of the players are considered for the Flying Fijians selection on the July Test matches and the RWC.

BARBARIANS: Forwards- Nic Dolly (Leicester Tigers and England), Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Stephan Lewies (Harlequins and South Africa), Steven Luatua (Bristol Bears and New Zealand), Enrique Pieretto (Glasgow Warriors and Argentina), Carlu Sadie (Cell C Sharks), Rob Simmons (London Irish and Australia), Harry Thacker (Bristol Bears), Sione Vailanu (Glasgow Warriors and Tonga), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons Rugby and Wales), Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), Tom West (Leicester Tigers), Hiroki Yamamoto (Toshiba Brave Lupus and Japan).

Backs- Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys and Wales), Quade Cooper (Hanazono Kintetsu Liners and Australia), Aaron Cruden (Tokyo Sungoliath and New Zealand), Francois Hougaard (Saracens and South Africa), Samu Kerevi (Tokyo Sungoliath and Australia), Tevita Li (Tokyo Sungoliath), Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs and England), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons and England),
Seta Tamanivalu (Toshiba Brave Lupus and Fiji).

WORLD XV: Forwards- Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Niccolo Cannone (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Elliot Dee (Dragons Rugby and Wales), Allan Dell (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Harry Hockings (Tokyo Sungoliath),

Wyn Jones (Scarlets Rugby, Wales, British & Irish Lions), Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), Michele Lamaro (Benetton Rugby and Italy), Viliame Mata (Edinburgh Rugby and Fiji), Sebastian Negri (Benetton Rugby and Italy),
Api Ratuniyarawa (London Irish and Fiji), Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs).

Backs- Bryn Hall (Shizuoka Blue Revs), Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby and Scotland), Israel Folau (Urayasu D-Rocks and Tonga), Marika Koroibete (Saitama Wild Knights and Australia), Ngani Laumape (Kobelco Kobe Steelers and New Zealand), Sbu Nkosi (Vodacom Bulls and South Africa), Rhys Patchell (Scarlets Rugby and Wales), Nick Phipps (Green Rockets Tokatsu and Australia)
Charles Piutau (Bristol Bears and Tonga), Semi Radradra (Bristol Bears and Fiji)

Story By: Leone Cabenatabua


Advertise with us

Get updates from the Fiji Sun, handpicked and delivered to your inbox.

By entering your email address you're giving us permission to send you news and offers. You can opt-out at any time.